.

So Long and Thanks for All The Memories

The JB Davis farewell speech that was originally supposed to be titled “So Long and Thanks for all the Fish.” Merit points are awarded to all who get the cultural/literary reference.

Back in September 2010 when Benicia Patch launched, I thought I’d died and gone to heaven.  I was given the opportunity to write about issues I thought were vitally important to the community in a forum that allowed anyone to join the conversation.

In a big picture sort of way, it worked out. We’ve had some lively conversations, I’ve gotten to know a lot of people I probably wouldn’t have met otherwise and I got to find out the hard way that not many people are interested in bicycles as a primary means of transportation.

As Patch continues to evolve, my role with company is evolving, so I must now say goodbye to the readers in Benicia.  I’m now taking on a larger role covering business and government for 10 Patch sites from Marin County to Santa Cruz County.

I hope you will all continue to support Benicia Patch, a site that we built together. 

Thank you for all the support and suggestions over the past two-and-a-half years.

--

Do you subscribe to the Benicia Patch newsletter? It brings our latest stories, blogs, announcements and the day's calendar events to your in-box early each morning. Follow Benicia Patch on Facebook and Twitter.

Do you have opinions, experiences and views to share? Consider becoming a Benicia Patch blogger!

Liz Edwards January 24, 2013 at 03:20 PM
Bye JB! Best wishes! Thank you for all you did for Benicia Patch.
Kenny January 24, 2013 at 04:44 PM
Good luck JB! I will be looking for your articles.
Peter Bray January 24, 2013 at 04:47 PM
Awwww, Bummer, Man! You leavin' town, too or just gonna commute from Small Waterfront Town, USA? Stay tuned, I'll find you with Taproot & Aniseweed...nobody escapes from a self-publisher for long--Rock on! Peter Bray, Benicia, CA
Joe Feltcher January 24, 2013 at 05:00 PM
Cue the "What is the City Council going to do about this!!!!" comments. First Mike & Gayles, then all the shops at Southampton, now this!!!! The outrage! Seriously JB, you were great. The police blogs SUCK now. Come back whenever you want! Joseph P. Feltcher III MBA, PhD, ESQ
Brian White January 24, 2013 at 07:30 PM
You can now start looking for that restaurant at the end of the universe
T. Gunter January 24, 2013 at 07:31 PM
Good luck JB! As a parting shot, I'd just like to add that I think having a disdain for bike-culture is "Un-American"!
JB Davis (Editor) January 24, 2013 at 07:35 PM
Merit points to Brian!!!! Have you deposited your penny in the bank yet?
JB Davis (Editor) January 24, 2013 at 07:36 PM
I tend to agree though I think most people don't have disdain for bike culture. I think they just don't really care-unless the bicyclist is running a stop sign.
Lois Requist January 24, 2013 at 11:31 PM
Good luck in your new assignment, JB. I'm not sure Patch is going to make it, but I hope you do! Enjoyed working with you.
Old Dog January 25, 2013 at 12:05 AM
We apologize for the inconvenience. Old Dog
Old Dog January 25, 2013 at 12:07 AM
Too ez- We apologize for the inconvenience.
Dennis Lowry January 25, 2013 at 01:37 AM
JB, You will be greatly missed. Your insight on issues with what I believe to be an even handed approach was most refreshing. I wish you the very best.
"The Black Panther of Poetry" January 25, 2013 at 01:59 AM
TAKE IT EASY J.B., "WE SHALL MEET AGAIN"!!!! J.B., hated all caps!!!
David Johnston January 25, 2013 at 05:54 AM
Best of luck on your new assignment Don't forget your towel
John Headley January 25, 2013 at 06:20 AM
Now who's gonna regulate Bobby's comments?
Gary Wing January 25, 2013 at 03:04 PM
Good luck in your move up and Thank You for covering our small town
Ed Matthews January 25, 2013 at 04:31 PM
JB, best of luck. Ed

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something